

Proceedings of the Annual Meeting of the Leeds City Council held at the Civic Hall, Leeds on Monday 9<sup>th</sup> June 2014.

**PRESENT:** The Lord Mayor Councillor Thomas Murray in the Chair

#### WARD

### ADEL & WHARFEDALE

Billy Flynn Barry John Anderson John Leslie Carter

### ALWOODLEY

Dan Cohen Peter Mervyn Harrand Neil Alan Buckley

# **ARDSLEY & ROBIN HOOD**

Lisa Mulherin Karen Renshaw Jack Dunn

#### ARMLEY

Alice Smart Alison Natalie Kay Lowe James McKenna

# **BEESTON & HOLBECK**

David Congreve Angela Gabriel Adam Ogilvie

#### **BRAMLEY & STANNINGLEY**

Kevin Ritchie Caroline Gruen Ted Hanley

#### **BURMANTOFTS & RICHMOND HILL**

Ron Grahame Maureen Ingham Asghar Khan WARD

# **CALVERLEY & FARSLEY**

Joseph William Marjoram

### **CHAPEL ALLERTON**

Eileen Taylor Mohammed Rafique Jane Dowson

# **CITY & HUNSLET**

Mohammed Iqbal Elizabeth Nash Patrick Davey

# **CROSS GATES & WHINMOOR**

Peter John Gruen Debra Coupar Pauleen Grahame

# **FARNLEY & WORTLEY**

Terry Wilford David Blackburn Ann Blackburn

# **GARFORTH & SWILLINGTON**

Stuart McKenna Andrea McKenna Mark Dobson

# **GIPTON & HAREHILLS**

Kamila Maqsood Roger Harington Arif Hussain

# **GUISELEY & RAWDON**

Pat Latty Graham Latty Paul John Spencer Wadsworth

#### HAREWOOD

Ann Castle Rachael Procter

#### HEADINGLEY

Jonathon Pryor Janette Walker Neil Walshaw

# HORSFORTH

Brian Cleasby Christopher Townsley Dawn Collins

# **HYDE PARK & WOODHOUSE**

Javaid Akhtar Christine Denise Towler Gerry Harper

## **KILLINGBECK & SEACROFT**

Brian Michael Selby Graham Hyde Veronica Morgan

# **KIPPAX & METHLEY**

Keith Ivor Wakefield Mary Elizabeth Harland James Lewis

#### **KIRKSTALL**

Fiona Venner Lucinda Joy Yeadon John Anthony Illingworth

#### **MIDDLETON PARK**

Kim Groves Paul Anthony Truswell Judith Blake

#### MOORTOWN

Sharon Hamilton Alex Sobel Rebecca Charlwood

# **MORLEY NORTH**

Thomas Leadley Robert Finnigan Robert William Gettings

# MORLEY SOUTH

Shirley Varley Judith Elliott Neil Dawson

### **OTLEY & YEADON**

Ryk Downes Sandy Edward Charles Lay Colin Campbell

### PUDSEY

Mick Coulson Josephine Patricia Jarosz Richard Alwyn Lewis

### ROTHWELL

Barry Stewart Golton David Nagle Karen Bruce

## ROUNDHAY

Ghulam Hussain Bill Urry Christine Macniven

#### **TEMPLE NEWSAM**

Michael Lyons Judith Cummins Katherine Mitchell

#### WEETWOOD

Judith Mara Chapman Jonathan Bentley Susan Bentley

#### WETHERBY

John Michael Procter Gerald Wilkinson Alan James Lamb

# **1** Issue of Papers for the Meeting

The Lord Mayor indicated that, following the dispatch of the Summons with accompanying reports on Friday, 30<sup>th</sup> May 2014, further papers originally identified on the Summons as to follow were circulated to Members on Friday 6<sup>th</sup> June 2014.

### 2 Opening Remarks

- a) The Lord Mayor reminded all those present that the Annual Meeting was to be webcast.
- b) The Lord Mayor welcomed the newly elected Members to their first meeting of Council.
- c) The Lord Mayor reported the recent death of Councillor Clive Fox, Stan Kenyon a former Director of Planning and Anne Maguire of Corpus Christi Catholic College, and Council stood in silent tribute.

### 3 Election of Lord Mayor

It was moved by Councillor Ogilvie seconded by Councillor Castle and

**RESOLVED UNANIMOUSLY** – That Councillor David Congreve be elected Lord Mayor of the City of Leeds to hold Office until the date of the Annual Meeting in 2015.

The meeting was suspended to allow for Councillor Congreve to accept the Chain of Office and to take the Chair.

### 4 Vote of Thanks to Retiring Lord Mayor

Councillor K Wakefield moved a vote of thanks to the retiring Lord Mayor, Councillor Thomas Murray. This was seconded by Councillor Lamb and supported by Councillors Downes, Elliott and D Blackburn.

**RESOLVED UNANIMOUSLY** – That a vote of thanks be moved for the retiring Lord Mayor, Councillor Thomas Murray.

#### 5 Election of Vice Chair of Council

It was moved by Councillor Wakefield seconded by Councillor Nash and

**RESOLVED UNANIMOUSLY –** That Councillor J McKenna be appointed Vice Chairman of Council to hold Office until immediately after the election of the Lord Mayor at the Annual Meeting of Council in 2015.

#### 6 Minutes

It was moved by Councillor Nash, seconded by Councillor G Latty and

**RESOLVED** – That the minutes of the meeting held on 26<sup>th</sup> March 2014 be approved.

# 7 Declarations of Interest

There were no declarations of interest at this meeting.

# 8 Election of Leader

It was moved by Councillor Nash seconded by Councillor Selby and

**RESOLVED –** That Councillor K Wakefield be elected Leader of the Council.

#### 9 Recommendations of the General Purposes Committee - Amendments to the Constitution

It was moved by Councillor Wakefield seconded by Councillor Nash and

**RESOLVED** – That the recommendations of the General Purposes Committee with regard to amendments to the Constitution, as detailed in the report of the City Solicitor, be approved.

#### 10 **Establishment of Committees and Appointments**

It was moved by Councillor Nash seconded by Councillor Selby and

**RESOLVED** –That Schedules 9(a)to(c) and Schedules 9(e)and(f) be approved and that the City Solicitor be authorised, in consultation with appropriate Whips, to change appointments made during the period between this meeting and the next ordinary meeting of Council

#### 11 **Appointment of Chair - Inner West Community Committee**

It was moved by Councillor Nash seconded by Councillor Selby that in accordance with Community Committee Procedure Rule 5.10 that the appointment of the Chair of the Inner West Community Committee be determined by the Council.

The unopposed nomination was Councillor C Gruen

**RESOLVED** – That Councillor C Gruen be appointed as Chair of the Inner West **Community Committee** 

#### 12 **Appointment of Chair - Inner North West Community Committee**

It was moved by Councillor Nash seconded by Councillor Selby that in accordance with Community Committee Procedure Rule 5.10 that the appointment of the Chair of the Inner North West Community Committee be determined by the Council.

The unopposed nomination was Councillor Akhtar

**RESOLVED** – That Councillor Akhtar appointed as Chair of the Inner North West Community Committee.

#### 13 **Appointment of Chair - Outer South Community Committee**

It was moved by Councillor Nash seconded by Councillor Selby that in accordance with Community Committee Procedure Rule 5.7 that the appointment of the Chair of the Outer South Community Committee be determined by Full Council as an overall majority of votes could not be

obtained at the Area Committee meeting on 5<sup>th</sup> June 2014.

The 2 nominations were: **Councillor Bruce** Councillor Finnigan

**RESOLVED** – That Councillor Bruce be appointed Chair of the Outer South Area Committee.

#### 14 **Appointment of Chairs to Community Committees**

It was moved by Councillor Nash seconded by Councillor Selby and

**RESOLVED** – That the appointment of Chairs of Community Committees as detailed in Schedule 9(d)(i) be noted.

#### 15 Scheme of Delegation (Council (Non-Executive) functions)

It was moved by Councillor Nash seconded by Councillor Selby and

**RESOLVED** – That the Officer Delegation Scheme (Council (Non Executive) Functions) as detailed in Schedule 10 be approved.

### **16 Executive Arrangements**

It was moved by Councillor Nash seconded by Councillor Selby and

**RESOLVED** – That the list presented by the Leader setting out the arrangements for the discharge of Executive Functions, as detailed in Schedule 11, be noted.

# 17 Council Meeting Dates 2014/2015

It was moved by Councillor Nash seconded by Councillor Selby and

**RESOLVED** – That the dates of the meetings of the Council for the Municipal Year 2014/15, as detailed in Schedule 12 be approved.

Council rose at 19.25